
15-DPT-AS State of Colorado 

DS 618 xx/25 DS 618 - Coal Real and Personal Property Declaration Schedule and Instructions 

THIS SCHEDULE MUST BE FILED EVERY YEAR REGARDLESS IF ANY ADDITIONS OR DELETIONS WERE MADE 

DUE DATE APRIL 15, 2025 
FOR ASSESSMENT YEAR BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2025 

General Information 

(Declaration Schedules and Attachments Are Confidential And Private Documents By Law.) 

For these instructions, please refer to the following statutes: §§ 39-3-118.5, 39-3-1 19.5, 39-5-104.5, 39-5-104.7, 39-5-107, 39-
5-108, 39-5-110, 39-5-113 through 117, 39-5-120, and 39-21-113(7), C.R.S. 

In accordance with § 39-3-119.5, C.R.S., you are not required to file the personal property portion of this 
declaration if the total actual value of your personal property per county is $56,000 or less. 

If you are unsure as to whether the total actual value of your personal property per county exceeds $56,000, please 
contact the county assessor. 

WHO FILES A DECLARATION SCHEDULE? The owner (legal titleholder) of taxable personal property, their agent, 
and those in possession and/or control of the taxable personal property as of January I must file a declaration schedule. All 
personal property, such as a business/organization's: ■ Equipment ■ Security Devices ■ Machinery ■ Household Furnishings 
■ Personal Effects, not otherwise exempt by law, must be listed on this schedule. 
IS YOUR BUSINESS NEW? ARE YOU A NEW OWNER? If you answer "yes" to either question, or you have never 
filed with the county assessor and you own taxable personal property, you arc required to provide a complete detailed listing 
of all machinery, equipment, and other personal property with an original installed cost over $350. Please include: ■ Item ID 
Number ■ Property Description ■ Model Number ■ Year Acquired ■ Original Installed Cost to You. 
PRORATION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUE IS GENERALLY NOT ALLOWED. 

As of January 1, 1996, the only proration of personal property value allowed is for Works of Art loaned to and used for 
charitable purposes by an exempt organization. If other taxable personal property was located in Colorado on the assessment 
date, it is taxable for the entire assessment year, providing that, if it was newly acquired, it was put into use as of the assessment 
date (January 1 ). If it was not located in the state on the assessment date, or if it was newly acquired, but was not put into use 
as of the assessment date, it cannot be taxed until the next assessment year. Except for works of art, personal property that is 
exempt on the assessment date retains its exempt status for the entire assessment year. These requirements do not affect the 
proration of real property. 
WHEN DO YOU FILE? This form must be received by the county assessor by the April 15 deadline EVERY YEAR. 
HOW DO YOU FILE FOR AN EXTENSION? You may extend the deadline if, by April 15, the assessor receives your 
written request AND $20 for a 10-day extension, or $40 for a 20-day extension. This extension applies to only personal 
property schedules (single or multiple) which a person is required to file in the county. 
WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU FAIL TO FILE? The late filing penalty is $50 or 15% of the taxes due, whichever is less. 
If you fail to file a schedule, the assessor shall determine a valuation based upon the BEST INFORMATlON AVAILABLE 
and shall add a penalty of up to 25% of assessed value for any omitted property discovered and valued later. 
NOTE: Failure to properly file a declaration schedule may prevent you from receiving an abatement per Colorado 
case law. Property Tax Adm'r v. Production Geophysical, 860 P.2d 514 (Colo. 1993) 

WHY IS THE DECLARATION FORM IMPORTANT? Assessors use this information to help calculate the property's 
actual value. This value is based on the property's use and condition as of January l of each assessment year. 
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER YOU SUBMIT THIS FORM? 
• The assessor may request more information or conduct a physical inventory of your personal property at your business 

location. 
• Notices of Valuation are mailed on June 15 to the address listed on this schedule. 



INSTRUCTIONS FUK COMPLETING THE COAL REAL ANIJ PEKSUNAL PROPERTY DEULAKAIIUN SCHEDULE, JS 6ls 

A. NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS: Write any corrections to the preprinted name/address information under Change of Name or Address. If you are 
not the current business owner, please list the name and address of the new owner in the appropriate box. Also, list the date that the property was sold to 
the new owner. 

PHYSICAL LOCATION/LEGAL DESCRIPTION: Ifnot pre-printed, enter the actual physical location/legal description of real and personal property 
owned by you and located within this county. This includes property owned or under your control or in your possession as of January I. Indicate if there 
has been a change in location. List any additional property locations. 

B. OPERATION: Complete this section by providing your business start-up date and primary product or service. If you are not the current business owner, 
please list the name and address of the new owner in the appropriate box. 

BUSINESS STATUS: Check the box that best describes your business status. 

C. LEASE AND PERMIT INFORMATION: The owner or operator must furnish names and other information pertaining to any leases. Leases shall be 
on file with the assessor and kept updated by the owner or operator. Indicate if a Colorado Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety (DRMS) permit 
is on file with the county clerk. 

D. LAND INFORMATION: The owner or operator shall furnish information consisting of all property owned or leased subject to production or non­
production. The distribution of the leases and/or land shall be furnished, or sufficient documentary evidence shall be filed with the assessor for the 
development of such information. 

E. GEOLOGICAL INFORMATION: Furnish items of geological and chemical information, including: ■ Heat Value ■ Sulfur Content ■ Moisture 
■ Ash ■ Volatile Matter ■ Fixed Carbon ■ Rank or Class (such as lignite, bituminous, etc.). In the case of metallurgical coal, note the free swelling 

index. A range of values will suffice in the absence of other data. 

F. PRODUCTION INFORMATION: Provide the ■ Number of tons and their production cost of the previous calendar year ■ Number of tons sold and 
the gross and net incomes derived from sales for the previous calendar year ■ Names of other substances mined at this site ■ Washing cost /per ton if coal 
is "WASHED" at mine prior to sale. 

G. RESERVE INFORMATION: Every year, the operator must file with the assessor annually updated engineering or geological reports that set forth 
reserve information, which should include the latest data. 

H. PURCHASER'S STATEMENT: List names and addresses of purchasers of coal producers during the prior calendar year. In addition, provide 
information as to: ■ Whether it was a contract or spot sale ■ Market price for which the coal was sold (not including freight) ■ Freight charge, if any 
■ Total price, including freight, received for the coal. 

I. LISTING OF REAL PROPERTY IMPROVEMENTS: List the ■ Description and location of all buildings and other leasehold improvements 
■ Construction or Installation Date ■ Your Original Installed Cost. The taxpayer may attach statements or accounting records to describe this property. 

J. LISTING OF PERSONAL PROPERTY: Natural resources personal property includes equipment, furniture, or machinery that is used in the: 
■ Exploration ■ Production ■ Milling ■ Processing, and/or ■ Refining of natural resource products. If you are a first time filer, or are unsure as to 
whether the total actual value of your personal property per county exceeds $56,000, please contact the county assessor. Whether or not you file a 
schedule, the assessor may select your business for an audit. 

Note: List ALL Personal Property including EXPENSED ASSETS WITH A LIFE OF GREATER THAN ONE YEAR AND FULLY 
DEPRECIATED ASSETS STILL IN USE THAT ARE SUB.JECT TO IRS DEPRECIATION. You should also submit any relevant market value, 
rent, or lease information. 

"CONSUMABLE" PERSONAL PROPERTY EXEMPT FROM TAXATION: Pursuant to § 39-3-119, C.R.S., personal property classified as "consumable" 
as defined in ARL Volume 5, Chapter 7, is exempt from taxation and should NOT be listed on this declaration. "Consumable" personal property is defined as any asset 
having a life of one (I) year or less regardless of cost, and any asset with a life longer than one year that has a reasonable original installed cost or market value in use of 
$350 or less at the time of acquisition. The $350 limitation applies to personal property that is completely assembled and ready to perform the end user's intended 
purpose(s) and it includes all acquisition costs, installation costs, sales.fuse taxes and freight expenses. 

IMPORTANT: YOU MUST SUBMIT A COMPLETE PROPERTY LISTING IF YOU HAVE NEVER PROVIDED ONE FOR THIS 
LOCATION. Do not list merchandise inventory, materials, or supplies. Do list all other personal property acquired by you during the prior year. If you 
have given the assessor such a list, you may simply submit additions and deletions each year. 

I. List all taxable personal property acquired by you during the prior year, providing: ■ Item ID Number ■ Complete Property Description Including 
Model Number or Capacity ■ Year Acquired ■ If the Item is New or Used ■ Original Installed Cost to You (Current Owner), and ■ The Month and 
Year Each Item was First Placed into Service or is Scheduled to be Placed into Service. You should separately submit any available market value, 
rent, or lease information. The Original Installed Cost to You is defined as the amount that was paid for the personal property when new, inclusive 
of■ Sales/Use Tax ■ Freight, and ■ Installation Charges. If the item was purchased used, include its Cost to You along with Sales/Use Tax, Freight, 
and Installation Charges. 

2. List all taxable personal property sold, traded, or scrapped during the prior year. Provide for all items deleted: ■ Item ID Number ■ Property 
Description ■ Year Acquired ■ If the Item is New or Used ■ Original Installed Cost to You (Current Owner). 

3. List all unlicensed mobile equipment at this location. Do not list licensed vehicles, mobile equipment with SMM license plates, rental decals, or 
Z-tabs. 

4. All leasehold improvements must be itemized to include: ■ Property Description ■ Year Acquired, and ■ Your Original Installed Cost. 

K. DEPRECIATION: If you file a Form 4562 or 4562-A with the IRS, please provide a copy of your completed IRS Form with an itemized listing of all 
personal property including the description and cost of each item. Note that alt personal property that is expensed should be included in your listing. In 
addition, attach a copy of the latest detailed Depreciation Schedule from your financial records. 

L. LEASED, LOANED OR RENTED PERSONAL PROPERTY: All personal property leased, loaned, or rented to you must be listed in this section. 
Property rented for 30 days at a time or less, returned at the renter's option, and for which sales/use tax is collected before it is finally sold, is considered 
exempt and should NOT be reported. You must identify each item of leased personal property as follows: ■ Owner/Lessor's Name, Address, and 
Telephone Number ■ Property Description Including Model and Serial Number ■ Cost of the Lease ■ Lease Number ■ Lease Term (From-To) ■ Total 
Amount of Annual Rent. If any of the leased equipment listed is capitalized on your books and records, please check the box at the beginning of the line 
corresponding with the name of the Lessor. Also, if purchase or maintenance options are included in the lease, check this box and provide details of these 
options on a separate sheet. 

M. DECLARATION AND SIGNATURE: Print the personal property owner's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or Social Security Number 
(SSN). Print name of owner, name of person signing, phone number, and e-mail address. Then sign, date, and return this form to assessor by April 15th. 
§ 39-5-107, C.R.S. 



State of Colorado 

DS 618 - Coal Real and Personal Property Declaration Schedule 

Confidential 
B.A. Code T.A Code Schedule/Acct# DO NOT USE - FOR ASSESSOR ONLY 

Code Description Acres Tons Actual % Assessed 
Value Value 

Assessment Date Due Date RETURN TO COUNTY ASSESSOR 51 JO Prod. Reserves Lands 27 and Leaseholds 
1/1/2025 4/15/2025 County 5210 Improvements FE 2 

27 .. a Si 

Equip., Furn. & L ei 

A. NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS (Indicate any changes/corrections) 5410 Machinerv 1 �� 27 

TOTALS 

Received Approved LATE 
PENALTY? 

Completed Abstr. Chgs. Y□ N□ 

PHYSICAL LOCATION/LEGAL DESCRIPTION OF THE If you are not the current business owner please list the name and 
PROPERTY AS OF JANUARY I, 2025: address of the new owner below. Date Sold: I 

B. OPERATION Start Up Date: Check this box if this is your first return I □ 

BUSINESS STATUS (Check the Appropriate Box): □New Business □New Owner I You MUST furnish a complete itemized listing for first returns. 
Type of Products I 

C. LEASE AND PERMIT INFORMATION 

1. Lease Information 

D. LAND INFORMATION E. GEOLOGICAL INFORMATION 

(Attach extra sheet for additional leases) 
Lessor's Name 
Lease Date 
Lease Term 
Royalty Rate 
Lease Options 
On File with As sessor? I 
2. Permit Information 

□Yes □No 

Total Acres of 

Owned 
Leased 
Permitted 
Permitted Acres of 

Remaining 
Reserve 
Depleted Reserve 
Non-Reserve 

washed non-
washed 

I. Heat value (BTU/lb) 
2. Sulfur content(%) 
3. Moisture(%) 
4. Ash(%) 
5. Volatile matter(%) 
6. Fixed carbon(%) 
7. Rank of coal 
8. Free swelling index (Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety) 

Permit number [ **Complete if you are mining metallurgical grade coal. 

F. PRODUCTION INFORMATION (for the preceding calendar year) G. RESERVE INFORMATION 

1. Coal produced from all lands tons 1. Estimated recoverable a mount tons 

2. Production cost of all coal $ 2. Estimated durability of reserves years 

3. Raw coal (non-washed) sold tons 3. Number of acres (in res erves) acres 

4. Beneficiated coal (washed) sold tons 4. Is there a geological rep ort 
5. Beneficiation or washing cost $ per ton concemmg □Yes □No 
6. Gross income from coal sold $ the coal geology of the reserve area? 
7. Net income from all coal sold $ A.  Name of report 
8. Other substances mined or produced B. Location of report 

H. PURCHASER'S STATEMENT (will be treated as strictly confidential) 

Name and Address 
Contract or Date of Contract Price Freight Total Price 

Soot Sale Or Snot Sale Received Charge Received 

I. LISTING OF REAL PROPERTY IMPROVEMENTS: (attach separate sheet(s), if necessary) List buildings and other improvements constructed 
or installed the previous year. Include the property description and installation date, your original installed cost, and any additions since original installation. 

Buildings and Other Improvements Description and Location 
Date of Your Original Additions Since Original 

Installation Installed Cost Installation 



J. LISTING OF PERSONAL PROPERTY: 
**FOR AN ACCURATE ASSESSMENT, WE MUST HAVE A COMPLETE LISTING OF PERSONAL PROPERTY** 

NOTE: Include ALL Expensed Assets With a Life of Greater Than I Year, Fully Depreciated Assets Still in Use, and Stored Assets. In accordance with § 
39-3-119.5, C.R.S., you are not required to complete this section if the total actual value of your personal property per county is $56,000 or less. If you arc 
a first-time filer or are unsure as to whether the total actual value of your personal property per county exceeds $56,000, please contact the county assessor. 
Whether or not you file a declaration schedule, the assessor may select your business for an audit. 

(1) List Personal Property acquired during the previous year. (Attach separate sheet(s), if needed): D Check if there arc no additions. 

Item 
ID# 

Complete Description Including Model or Capacity Year 
Acquired 

Month & Year First 
Placed Into Service 

New or Used 
(check only one) 

D New □Used 

D New □Used 

(2) List Personal Property sold, traded, or permanently disposed of as of January 1: D Check ifthcre arc no deletions. 

Item 
ID# 

Complete Description Including Model or Capacity Year 
Acquired 

New or Used 
(check only one) 

D New □Used 

D New □Used 

(3) List Unlicensed Mobile Equipment: Do not list mobile equipment with SMM license plates, rental decals, or Z-tabs. 

Item 
ID # 

Complete Description Including Model or Capacity 

(4) List ALL Leasehold Improvements: (Attach separate sheets(s), if needed.) 

Description 

Year 
Acquired 

Year in 
Use 

New or Used 
(check only one) 
D New □Used 
D New □Used 

Year 
Acquired 

Original Installed 
Cost to you 

$ 

$ 

Original Installed 
Cost to you 

$ 

$ 

Original Installed 
Cost to you 

s 

S 

$ 

$ 

Your Original 
Installed Cost 

K. DEPRECIATION: If you file a form 4562 or 4562-A with the IRS, please provide a copy of your completed IRS Form with an itemized listing of all 
personal property including the description and cost of each item. Note that all personal property that is expensed should be included in your listing. In 
addition, attach a copy of the latest detailed Depreciation Schedule from your financial records. 

L. LEASED, LOANED, OR RENTED PROPERTY: Declare Property Owned by Others 

D Check here if you possessed any leased, loaned, or rented machinery, equipment, furniture, signs, vending machines on January 1st. 
Do not list licensed vehicles, mobile equipment with SMM license plates, rental decals, or Z-tabs. List below, showing owner's name, address, 
and telephone number; property description; etc. If any of the leased equipment is capitalized on your books and records, please check the box 
at the beginning of the line corresponding with the name of the Lessor. 

Owner/Lessor's Name, Address, Description Including Model/ New or Used Tot. Lease Orig. Inst. Lease Lease Term Annual 
Telephone Number Serial No. or Capacity Cost Cost Number (From-To) Rent 

D 
□New □Used S S s 

D 
□ New □Used $ s s 

D If purchase or maintenance options are included in the total annual S rent shown above, check here and furnish details. 

M. DECLARATION: (THIS RETURN IS SUBJECT TO AUDIT) 
"I declare, under penalty of perjury in the second degree, that this schedule, together with any accompanying exhibits or statements, has been examined by me and to 
the best of my knowledge, information, and belief sets forth a full and complete list of all taxable personal property owned by me, or in my possession, or under my 
control, located in this county, Colorado, on the assessment date of this year, that such property has been reasonably described and its value fairly represented; and that 
no attempt has been made to mislead the assessor as to its age, quality, quantity, or value." § 39-5-107(2), C.R.S. 

PROPERTY OWNER'S FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (FEIN)/SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SSN) _ 

NAME OF OWNER _ 

PRINT NAME OF PERSON SIGNING __ PHONE NUMBER 

E-MAIL ADDRES S FAX NUMBER _ 

SIGNATUREOFOWNER ORAGENT DATE _ 
□Check here if new agent. If new agent, submit a letter of authorization when filing this form. 

PLEASE COMPLETE, SIGN AND RETURN TO THE ASSESSOR ON OR BEFORE APRIL 15, 2025. 


