PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION FOR QUALIFYING DISABLED VETERANS
- OVERVIEW 0 e
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In 2006, Colorado voters amended section 3.5 of article X of
the Colorado Constitution. The amendment and subsequent
legislation expanded the senior property tax exemption to
include “qualifying disabled veterans.”

For disabled veterans who qualify, 50 percent of the first
$200,000 of actual value of the veteran’s primary residence is
exempted. The state will reimburse the county treasurer for the
lost revenue. Owners of multiple residences may only
designate one property as their primary residence.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS:

A “qualifying disabled veteran® is a person who meets each
of the following requirements - § 39-3-202(3.5), C.R.S.

e  The veteran sustained a service-connected disability while
serving on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United
States. This includes members of the National Guard and
Reserves who sustained their injury during a period in
which they were called to active duty.

e The veteran was honorably discharged.

o The federal Department of Veterans Affairs has rated the
veteran’s service-connected disability as a one hundred
percent permanent disability through disability retirement
benefits pursuant to a law or regulation administered by
the department, the U.S. Department of Homeland
Security, or the Department of the Army. Navy, or Air
Force.

Property Requirements - §§ 39-3-202(2) and (3) and

203(1.5) to (5), C.R.S:

e Ownership — The veteran must own the property and must
have been an owner of record since January | of the
current year. The veteran’s ownership can be limited to a
fractional, joint, or life estate interest.

Exceptions:

If the veteran’s spouse is an owner and the veteran is not,
the veteran can meet the ownership requirement if the
couple was married on or before January 1 and both have
occupied the property as their primary residence since
January 1.

If the property is owned by a trust. corporate partnership,
or other legal entity, the veteran will meet the ownership
requirement if each of the following is true: 1) the veteran
or spouse is a maker of the trust or a principal of the
corporate partnership or legal entity, 2) the property was
transferred solely for estate planning purposes, and
3) the veteran or spouse would otherwise be the owner of
record.

e Occupancy — The veteran must occupy the property as his
or her primary residence and must have done so since
January 1. A primary residence is the place at which a
person's habitation is fixed. A person can have only one
primary residence at any time.

If the veteran is registered to vote, the address used for
voter registration is considered the veteran’s primary
residence. [fthe veteran is not registered to vote, the

address listed on automobile registrations. income tax
returns, or other legal documents may be considered as
evidence of the veteran’s place of primary residency.

If the veteran is confined to a hospital, nursing home or
assisted living facility, the property can be considered the
veteran’s primary residence if it is occupied by a spouse or
a financial dependent or if it is unoccupied.

e Residential Property — The property must be classified by
the county assessor as residential.

e Multiple Dwelling Units — If the veteran owns a multiple
dwelling unit property, exemption will only be granted to
the unit occupied by the veteran as his or her primary
residence.

MAKING APPLICATION:

Complete the attached application and mail or deliver it to the
Colorado Department of Military and Veterans AfTairs,
Division of Veterans Affairs (Division), at the address listed in
the instructions. Completed applications must be postmarked
or delivered no later than July 1 of the year for which the
exemption is requested. To ensure that the application is
timely filed. all information requested on the application.
including a copy of your VA award letter, must be submitted
by July 1.

The Division will make a determination on your status as a
“qualifying disabled veteran™ and mail you a determination. I
approved, the Division will forward your approved application
to your county assessor for further review.

The county assessor will determine whether the property
requirements are met. [f they are, the assessor will place the
exemption on your property and it will remain in place for
future years until a change in the status of your property
requires that the exemption be removed.

If one or more of the property requirements are not met, the
assessor will mail you a letter explaining the reason(s) for
denial, and provide you with instructions for appealing the
assessor’s decision to the county board of equalization.
Denials issued by the Division on an applicant’s status as a
“qualifying disabled veteran™ cannot be appealed to the county
board of equalization.

Under no circumstances shall an exemption be allowed for
property taxes assessed during any tax year prior to the year in
which the wveteran first files an exemption application.
No more than one exemption per tax year shall be allowed for a
residential property, even if one or more of the owner-
occupiers qualify for both the senior exemption and the
disabled veteran exemption.

If an individual or married couple applies for either or both the
senior and disabled veteran exemptions on more than one
property, the exemptions will be denied on each property.

Applications can be obtained from the Division’s web site
www.colorado.gov/vets and from the web site of the Colorado
Division of Property Taxation at: http://dola.colorado.cov/dpt.
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IDENTIFICATION: Identify the disabled veteran and

the property in this section.

oThe applicant’s Social Security number is required.
For an explanation, please review 5 below.

oLife estate — It is permissible for ownership to be held in
a life estate. 1f ownership is held in a life estate,
checking the life estate box will assist the assessor’s
office in processing your application.

DISABLED VETERAN STATUS: To qualify, both
questions must be true and you must attach a copy of your
VA award letter verifying that you have been given a
permanent disability rating by the VA.

OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENT: To qualify, either

statement 3A or 3B must be true. If 3B is true, you must

complete either section 6 or 7 on the back of the form.

The ownership requirement is discussed under

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS in the Overview.

o Two individuals who are legally married. but who own
more than one residential property, shall be deemed to
occupy the same primary residence and may claim no
more than one exemption. If you and/or your spouse
qualify for both the disabled veterans exemption and the
senior citizen property tax exemption, you may apply
for and claim only one of the exemptions.

OCCUPANCY REQUIREMENT: To qualify, either

statement 4A or 4B must be true. If 4B is true, you must

complete section 8 on the back of the application form.

(The occupancy requirement is  discussed  under

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS in the Overview.

NAME AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OF
EACH ADDITIONAL OCCUPANT: Pursuant  to
§ 39-3-205(2)(a)(111), C.R.S., the name and Social Security
number of each individual who occupies the property must
be listed on the application. The information is needed 1o
ensure that no one receives the exemption on more than
one property. The statute requires that the information be
kept confidential.

5A — The Spouse’s Name:

olf your spouse occupies the property with you, provide
his/her name and Social Security number, and check the
box marked “Yes.”

olf you do not have a spouse living with you, list the
name and Social Security number of all other occupants,
and check the box marked “No.”

5B — Other Individuals:

oList all other individuals, including children, who
occupy the property as their primary residence.

olf more than three people occupy the property, attach an
additional sheet listing the names and Social Security
numbers for each.

6.

7

8.

9.

PROPERTY OWNED BY A TRUST: If question
3B is true, you must complete either section 6 or section 7.

6A — Provide the name of the trust.

6B — Provide the name of the maker of the trust.
The maker is the person who created the trust.

6C — Provide the name of the trustee.

6D — Provide the name of each beneficiary of the trust.
Attach an additional sheet if necessary.

6E — To qualify for exemption, this statement must be
true.

PROPERTY OWNED BY A CORPORATE
PARTNERSHIP OR OTHER LEGAL ENTITY:
IT question 3B is true, you must complete either section 7
or section 6.

7A — Provide the name of the corporate partnership or
other legal entity.

7B — Provide the name of each principal of the corporate
partnership or legal entity. Attach an additional
sheet if necessary.

7C — To qualify for exemption, this statement must be
true.

CONFINEMENT TO A HEALTH CARE FACILITY:
Complete this section only if question 4B is true.
8A — Provide the name of the qualified disabled veteran.
8B - State the location and dates of confinement.
8C — To quality for exemption, this statement must

be true.
NOTE:
If ownership is held in your spouse’s name, and your
spouse is confined to a health care facility, complete
section § for vour spouse.
AFFIDAVIT AND SIGNATURE: You must sign and
date the form. If the form is signed on behalt of the
applicant by a guardian, conservator, or attorney-in-fact,
that person must provide documentation of his/her
authority in the form of a court order or power of attorney.
If there is-a contact person other than the applicant, please
provide the name and telephone number of the contact
person.
Submit your application no later than July 1, to the
Colorado Department of Military and Veterans Affuirs,
Division of Veterans Affairs at the address listed below.
If you have questions about your status as a “qualifying
disabled veteran,” please contact the Division of Veterans
Affairs.  If you have any other questions about this
program, please contact the Colorado Division of
Property Taxation at 303-864-7777.

Colorado Department of Military and Veterans Affairs
Division of Veterans Affairs
"1355 S. Colorado Blvd.; Bldg. C, Suite 113
2 Denver, Coh’)rndb‘ 80222
Telephone: 303-284-6077 Fax: 303-284-3163
. www.colorado.govivets .
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